November 9th

on

I left my love in California

Behind his chain link fence & sad, sad eyes

I promised I’d be back

But you can’t fool those who can’t be surprised

 

I knew I’d have to leave my love in California

So I crawled between doors in  a dark house at night

Hopped the first bus that could promise

It would lead straight to him

 

I thought of climbing his chain link fence

Sneaking through the grass

Playing songs against his bedroom window

Cracked so he could head the moon at night

 

I wondered if my love

Would sit against the wall

Facing the sky

Waiting to see if the sun would rise

 

(November 9th 2016)

Leave a Reply

