November 2nd

You say you love me, like I’m a temple and you believe

Like an oasis in the desert

Like the words I speak are holy,

& I speak in novels  with my tongue

 

You look at me with diamonds in your eyes  & a magnet in your heart

 

Reaching & stretching with your neck to pull me close

 

Falling into an ocean of thoughts & words running alongside each other as the sun lounges across the sky

 

You speak to me with a tongue of feathers as I see you flinch from the daggers in my eyes

 

Watch you love me as I watch you feelingless

 

And we stare at each other like we can’t see the white paint on the ground

 

Like the needles on the clock aren’t marching into nothingness

 

Like the sky isn’t darkening around us

Waiting for me to fall & drown or walk away mechanically

 

(November 2nd 2016)

Leave a Reply

