Inhale (00:42)

on

Perhaps I inhaled you,

Long ago

Which would explain how you’re stitched onto my skin as if it had always been your own

*

And why, when I rummage through the dark corners of my mind

And unveil within me my deepest secrets

You are somehow always there

*

Perhaps I lost you down some road

Centuries ago

And you’ve now found your way back

To a half that’d gone missing

*

Perhaps that would explain

Why I instantly forget

That a foreign body is there

In my arms

When I hold you

*

Or why

Kissing you

Doesn’t feel like kissing at all

And doesn’t make my mind leave

Because why would feeling whole feel out of the ordinary at all?

*

Maybe I’d be able to comprehend how you resuscitate parts of me that died so long ago

I’d forgotten they were ever there

*

(00:42)

May 2016

Leave a Reply

