What you might be thinking

on

Has my smile crossed your path?

I must have lost it down some long avenue

And grown acquainted with this seering guilt instead

*

Where have the memories flown off to?

I think I may have pushed the wrong lever

And flushed them down the drain by mistake

*

Where is the passion gone?

The light that used to reside in my eyes

But that has now packed its bags

And left me for another’s

*

Where have the shards of you gone?

Those split pieces of mirrored glass

That used to pain me in your presence?

*

For fear that the proximity

Shattered some essential rule

The unspoken agreement that leaves us

Chasing one star and not the entire sky

*

(15:30)

26 March 2016

Leave a Reply

