February 18th

The Alan Watts boy and

The Charles Dickens girl

An accidental fall

An illusory thrill

*

Here no more

Surprising you were ever there at all

Empty space no one needs to fill

Although the possibilities exist

I feel no need for any of them to enter the abyss

*

Perhaps none of this happened

Perhaps it was all in my head

All I know is

I just can’t imagine

How you could have just let me drop dead

*

When you stopped time

You could have cut my strings

No sympathy, you stabbed the holes

And watched from afar as my boat sinked

And my flags ripped

And the shreds of the thread followed and let the way back to you

Perhaps I simply fell for the anchor

While you tried to distract yourself with the dead

*

(17:38)

February 18th

2 Comments Add yours

  1. a mystery says:

    Powerful. I like the imagery of cutting the strings and the flags of the ship ripping. It’s very dramatic. I think about you in that part as one of those old ships with all the masts crashing and burning in the sea.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Cora says:

    Yes, that’s exactly what I was referring to. At least things have gotten better since, but strange to think back to only a month ago when I felt that way.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

