Frame

Perhaps I just came too late

Had we met 12 or 18 months earlier

Everything might have worked out

*

Then again I’d be different

So would you

Perhaps our pieces wouldn’t have fit

The way they did

Perhaps

She was the one you needed to

Complete your puzzle

While I was only the frame

*

For if a man never forgets his first love

How could I not wish to be her?

Or how could I not wish to rewind time

Step in

And meet you before she did?

*

If your heart still goes out to her

If she’s the one who saved you,

How could I ever compare?

And if your feelings are long gone

And now you are left with the ashes and the dust

And it destroys you this way

How could I ever compare?

*

written January 29th 2016

(21:53)

One Comment Add yours

  1. Nicodemas says:

    Wonderful poetry.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

