Totem – Extract 6

on

Beep. Beep. Whurr. Beep. Beep. Whurr. Beep. Beep. Such were the noises I heard when I regained consciousness. Eyes still closed but my mind growing clearer and clearer by the minute. The bitter smell of medicine and antisceptic assaulted my nose and I was painfully aware of the bright sun hitting my closed eyelids. My lids opened inch by inch to a pale blue room and my body laying on a bed with white sheets. To my right, a window with opened curtains let in light from the bright white sun and hinted at the blue of the sky behind the world of white outside. To my left, a closed door that promised escape. Beep, beep went my heart and whurr went a machine close by. I closed my eyes and tried to shut out the loud sounds. Focus. Breathe. Inhale. Hold. Exhale. My heart beat faster with each passing moment as I took hold of my surroundings and what my presence here entailed: Edward’s d – I couldn’t say it, couldn’t even think it. I pushed those thoughts to the back of my mind, the would resurface soon enough.

 

13:28

03/12/14

Leave a Reply

