Nearly January again

Nearly January again

Completing the cycle all over again

120-odd poems later

Wondering what this new year will bring

Will he come back?

What awaits me?

Family, new friendships, a new love or two

Sooner or later

*

Birds fly above, twittering, chirping, those same birds as always

Becoming somebody new,

With a core and old blood still running through the veins

Of who I used to be

I won’t change,

Not completely

I’ll still mostly be who I used to be

But it’s bewildering to wonder where

I’ll be next December

Will I have met somebody new?

So many questions when all I want are answers.

Certainties.

Relationships to hold onto

Constants that’ll remain true

No matter where I go

No matter what I do

Birds seared into my skin

That I’ll always carry with me

Pierced into my flesh

For as long as my body grasps onto life

*

Reducing my life’s clock with every cigarette

Burning more and more grains of sand in the hourglass with every passing minute

Striving to make every grain matter

21:03

06/12/15

Leave a Reply

