Tether

on

And I’m lost

This place is not for me

But for now I’m stuck, because

You’re the tether

Holding me

Right here

For now

Maybe

*

And I don’t know where I should go

But I know that my place is not here

But you are the link

Binding me to this place

And when I think of you

I don’t want to leave

You are all that is holding me here

*

Because I always leave

I screw up

Bad

And I break everyone who gets close enough to care

(They care too quickly,

They get attached

And no matter how attached I get

I always leave)

*

It’s in my nature

Drifting from one place to another

Poisoning as I go along

Estella,

Like her,

I can’t love

They love, all the others

I don’t

I’m incapable of it

I can’t fight it

Try as I may

I never care

I never love

I leave it all behind

As soon as I start to fall

Fall into friendship

Fall into love (I wouldn’t know,

That’s never happened before

Might not have happened yet)

I. Don’t. Stay.

*

I ride in and sweep everything away

As I pass

Destroy

Annihilate

Erase

All that people learn to feel for me

I escape

As soon as I start to care

(22:20)

November 2nd

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Nicodemas says:

    Amazing, and I understand the thoughts here.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Tiegan says:

    I feel the tragic aftermath of this person’s actions…are you this person? I especially feel the strong emotion of these lines:

    “(They care too quickly,

    They get attached

    And no matter how attached I get

    I always leave)

    Beautiful poem.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I usually write my poems from my point of view, as they are the thoughts going through my mind, so yes, I am this person. Thank you for the kind comment, I never know if people will understand or relate to what I write. ❤ Take care

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

