The dark one

on

Mostly, I hate this side of me:

The dark one

The haunting one

The heavy one

*

But when she takes hold of me,

When I can feel the smothering fog crawl through my limbs,

I can’t stop her

*

She doesn’t knock, just bursts in without acknowledging my presence

And takes control

And yet…

*

Yet she’s one of the most beautiful parts of me

Certainly the most terrifying

And as she slinks and saunters

I can’t help but envy her,

This dark shadow

*

She spins the wheel,

Throws the dice,

And steers.

And as I become her,

I think what she thinks:

“Scald me

Scald me

Scald me

I want to burn”

*

She’s powerful and intense

And she commands so much respect that I can’t force her away,

even when I want to

*

She’s a wild horse

And the only one who can keep me running the race

And sometimes all I can do to survive

is surrender to her will and let her move my limbs

Like she’s the all-powerful puppeteer

And I the pathetic puppet

*

Yet I never feel as powerful

& in control as when I’m her

Darkness

Shadows

Smog

How could I ever resist her?

(3 October 2015, 1:36 am).

One Comment Add yours

  1. Nicodemas says:

    Amazing and wonderful.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

