Flames raced

Flames raced.

Feet bled through to the floor from dancing

I ran and ran and ran

Danced and danced and danced

‘Til the shadows held no more meaning.

Smoke billowed,

Twisting into sailing boats,

Raging seas,

Clouds,

Nothingess.

My head filled with the latter.

And metal bars imprisoned me within my own mind.

I cried

I fell

I screamed in desperation:

“Can’t you hear me?

I know you do.

It’s burning.

Put out the fire.

Can’t you see me?

Can’t you smell the charred bodies?

Deliver me!”

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Nicodemas says:

    Wow, intense and beautiful.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you so much, I noticed you comment on almost every single post of mine (if not all of them). Thank you for being so patient as to read them all and for commenting so diligently. I really appreciate all of your comments, and can’t believe how kind they are! Thank you from the bottom of my heart. I hope you have a great day and take care!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Nicodemas says:

    I do write alot of comments on blogs I enjoy. I consider it a way of giving back of the encouragement I have received. We pour our hearts and souls into our writing and it’s wonderful when someone thinks it is good. I enjoy your writing a great deal. Peace and blessings to you.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Good luck and take care too! I’m truly glad that you enjoy my posts 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. a mystery says:

    This relates a lot to what I was going through a few nights ago. I love how real and honest your words are.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. elainajhunt says:

    Reblogged this on elainajhuntwriting and commented:
    This is absolutely amazing! Wonderful Lea!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

