I’ll be your home

These days are cold,

And my blood congeals in my veins to form a thick, electric-blue paste

That refuses to budge, and clogs my arteries

My movements are slowed, and my thoughts addled

So unwind me

*

Help my veins to open and my blood to thaw

For I am the coldest air,

The most deserted alleyway,

The most painful silence

*

I’ll bring the wooden planks

If you’ll come along with your strong arms and chest

To build me new

*

I could be your sea-side cottage,

Your mountain chalet,

Your city-centre apartment or even

The place where your children will be raised, your home

*

I’ll lower my voice and intensity,

Try to counter my bestial instincts,

Drown out these percussive, industrial noises,

Soften these clinical, piercing, calculating eyes

*

Maybe then I’ll travel unnoticed,

Incognito and unrecognisable

But what am I hiding from?

21/06/2015 (16:11)

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Noora says:

    Fine poetry – very moving work!

    Like

  2. elainajhunt says:

    This is incredible, indeed!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Nicodemas says:

    A wonderful poem!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

