First Sight

on

I shuffle and drag my feet as I go, reluctant to cast my old shell behind.

But please, don’t misunderstand me, lifting this weight off my shoudlers

Is more difficult than is apparent at first sight.

*

I could invite you to disperse my concerns,

Blow them off like a feather on my neck.

*

But you and I both secretly know life isn’t that easy,

And perhaps you are too embarrassed to admit that, deep down,

You enjoy me being crooked, unique

Me not being a straight line, not a perfect circle,

But rather dots, separated and isolated,

That only you can link

*

Perhaps you can’t admit that the freedom and carelessness I exude

Brings you peace

That you, unlike me, can only dream

Of forgetting all your memories, good and bad,

With the blink of eyelashes

*

But, I promise, this shifting identity is

More difficult than would appear at first sight

*

I will not lay claim to the expression,

But it was once said it “takes adjustment

Being so long a sail,

So suddenly an anchor”

And I trust you to appreciate this rare piece of symbolism.

Perhaps one bright day, I’ll discover my wings and

Take to the sky

*

But for now, I’ll ask you this while I still can, darling:

“Will you sink with me?”

21/06/2015 (15:23)

2 Comments Add yours

  1. elainajhunt says:

    Just beautiful, Lea!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you very much, elaina! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

