Je m’effrite (english version: I’m withering away)

I don’t feel part of this world anymore

Everything has been erased

My past

Is withering away

With the time that falls

In the hourglass

*

I can’t find  the hope anymore

That was hidden

Under my pillow

In the evening

Everything seems to wither away

*

Everything slips away beneath my feet

The quicksand clings

Onto my thin, trembling legs

I can’t find the strength to get myself back up the hill

*

The map flew away long ago

It seeks new lands

And I the materialisation

Of a me still fresh and innocent

Pure and unheard of

*

I will create myself unknown, unusual, unexpected

Carefree and also candide

I will craft the steps under which I walk

As I go along. Let it be known

That I will not surrender

But will continue like this

*

Until this singular thruth manifests itself

Reluctant realisation

That I hunt down with enthusiasm and devotion

Now

I will no longer be your pretty doll

I will show my fangs and claws with intensity

I will never tremble again

Before your glare

22/05/2015

One Comment Add yours

  1. elainajhunt says:

    Wow! This is brilliant, Lea. Rhythm, syntax, and strong word choices all lend to the beautiful descriptions of this piece. Amazing!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

