Great expectations

on

Withering books are piled high

With the worlds I’ll never experience

The people I’ll never greet

The lives I’ll never lead

*

Schoolwork is stacked high

With the expectations I’ll never meet

The jobs I’ll never have

The lives I’ll never lead

*

Clothes hang, weighing down the railing

With the skins I’ll never wear

The people I’ll never be

The lives I’ll never lead

*

Cosmetics fill the closet

With the beauty I’ll never call mine

The expectations I’ll never meet

The people I’ll never be

The lives I’ll never lead

23/04/2015

One Comment Add yours

  1. elainajhunt says:

    So sad, but so relatable and beautifully expressed!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

