Breathing

on

It seems so much easier to breathe now

That the wind is gone

Paradoxically: trouble still remains

*

But I feel I’m closer to the surface now

Not so much drowning

As floating, sifting through the rocks

And the clinging sand below

*

The memories slip and let go as the current

Washes them away

Somehow I’m left clean and new

*

Real endings are so hard to recognise

They seek the dark and time

Passes so quickly before we

Realise they were even there

*

But each day now tastes

Like sunrise and pale pink possibilities

I never had the choice to breathe

Yet each inhale smells sweet to this new consciousness

That only searches for more experiences

And the new tomorrow

*

Beauty springs at me

From every flower and

Every flow of the wind rushing by

*

However jarring, cutting, precise, piercing it might be

This clinical beauty has got a hold of me

I never stood a chance to let it go

I simply fell into its soothing arms and

Let the embrace wash over me like a wave

*

The frozen me finally starts to thaw

Although I still tiptoe around the

Daydreams that sail through my mind

Unwilling to pop those sweet bubbles

07/04/2015

One Comment Add yours

  1. elainajhunt says:

    Inspirational. (:

    Like

Leave a Reply

