Mirror

on

My halo is somehow still holding on

Long ago, I spray-painted it black

So others wouldn’t see that

It’s detachable, removable

*

That it could be washed away at

The gust of the wind

When the memories are deleted

I clip it back on, scrub it clean

*

And pretend nothing’s changed

But no door was ever truly crossed

I still remain on this side of the mirror

Forever incapable of crossing to the

*

Clearer, brighter, shinier

Other side

*

My alter ego refuses to break eye contact

Determined as she is to see my life through

I avert my gaze

*

Notice how my dress is black as coal

While hers shimmers gold?

*

See my scars

Where her skin is perfectly smooth and brilliant?

*

Static disturbes my frame

Hers gleems piercing

07/04

Leave a Reply

