Hummingbird

on

You were a hummingbird

A hovering could have been

A possibility

A chance I didn’t take

*

You flew just out of reach

I had no strength to seek that far

Instead, I was drowned by the probability

*

It seemed so freeing

To construct the future in my head

Like a city

*

But all too soon the possibility

Flew away with the dust

And all that remained was the weight

Of the could have been

 The would have been

The should have been

The ought to have been

*

Back then the days could never pull themselves towards dawn

But you, you reached across the sky

And brought them to each new beginning

*

You could have been the white cure

For my dark, broken heart

A chance I never took

*

I looked at you through the dark, coal-incrusted

Fraying mirror

*

Your side seemed so much brighter

But I remained in the shadow

Too hesitant to follow you

Into the unknown

*

I was under the water

You were out with the sun

I watched your face

Through gallons of black water

As I drowned

*

But I found it was a lighter sort of drowning

Not so dreadful, not so frightening

The sand softened my fall

I chose not to breathe

*

You couldn’t have swum

You would have sunk down with me

Perhaps that’s what you were looking for

All along

04/04/2015 and 05/04/2015

Leave a Reply

