Your presence like a scent

on

You whisper to me across the veil

Your simmering words of loss

Seep into my mind

I seek an equilibrium I cannot find

*

The memories furnish forgotten rooms

Your presence like a scent

So familiar yet unidentifiable

So difficult to access those rooms

I have long ago lost the key

*

Pale colours guide me to them

I feel the wood panels against the wall

Breathe the light filtering through the long curtains

In the long hallway back to you

*

Yet you all seem long gone

I am wandering through lost memories

Your presence only fleeting

Like a scent

*

It seems I’m sifting through the glass

Of what was broken long ago

My hands are cut

As I try to repair

*

I search for you in forgotten memories

But how do I tell the difference between

Sifting sand and the wind?

05/04/2015

One Comment Add yours

  1. elainajhunt says:

    I especially love how you relate scent to memory here. I find myself all the time identifying a scent currently, and being thrown into the past with the aroma. But I like how you almost reverse that here. Someone, themselves, actually being the scent that you can’t quite follow, being lost in the memory. Just beautiful!

    Like

Leave a Reply

