Skin

on

We only ever feel at home in our own skin

Then why does mine feel so thin?

So fleeting, like it’s not even mine

I seek another body from another time

.

This one so unfamiliar, so foreign to me

My former so central to my identity

These eyes never witnessed the beauty of them

My chest never held, or soothed

.

Until then

I’ll have to muster my patience

Bear this unknown skin

Accept it’ll change others’ impression

Of me, but did a body ever truly change a soul?

04/04/2015

One Comment Add yours

  1. elainajhunt says:

    Wow. I absolutely admire this poem! Just brilliant!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

