Let me go

on

Let me go

Stop following me

Everywhere I go

Like a white shadow

Creeping

.

Alleviate the burden you represent

Get off me

You cling so tightly to my skin

.

I need you to let me go

Let me drift, a pink balloon,

Let me soar the winds I choose

.

You can’t keep following me

Not after the dark veil that separates us

Stop haunting me

Terminate this mission you seem to hold so dear

.

Can you hear me here?

Am I speaking loud enough

For the realisation to hit you

Just like your deaths hit me

So many centuries back?

.

Is this punch strong enough

To slap you awake?

Let

Me

Go

I’ve tried to free the memories I hold

To no avail

.

Now: your turn

Try to erase, delete, burn

All of me that you held dear

.

Momma, don’t hold me so tightly

Family, your hugs are smothering

You’re annihilating the broken, bleeding,

Pulsing pieces of me left

.

Break apart from me

I need to feel what it is like

To step without you

To roam the earth without

Your presence like a stranger stalking me

.

4 years, 3 months & 9 days

Since I saw you waste away

On that hospital bed

Ed

Dear, my brother, my friend

I love you,

But you need to let me go now

.

Remember how mischievous we used to be

How we used to laugh

At the sun and grass

.

Grip those memories as tightly

And stubbornly

As you wish

But don’t grip my hands and heart so riggidly

.

Tell Momma and Daddy

That I love them too

If they aren’t here now with you

Only you know how much pain you have caused me

And how I treasure what we once had

.

You, too, need to set my heart free

Time has healed as much of it as could

Ever have been expected

Only you can do the rest

31/03/2015

Leave a Reply

