If our story were a book

If our story were a book

The title would be your name

The author: me

Some things must remain

.

The first chapter: before

All the rest: my quest for more

For more life, for more love

Searching for truths to hold above

.

The other chapters: empty pages

Testiment of all you took away

My beliefs, my conceptions, even the way

I saw the world

.

And from time to time: pain

17 chapters, the number of years you lived, Ed

I’ve now lived longer even than you

I cannot find the pen to start writing anew

.

All else leaves, the ink flows away

With the dewdrops of each passing day

Nothing I hold onto remains

.

I try to fill these blank pages with new words

And new thoughts

But the last page will always be yours

25/03/2015

3 Comments Add yours

  1. elainajhunt says:

    I can truly feel the emotion here, and there are tears in my eyes.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. a mystery says:

    This hit me right in the soul

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I don’t know if I should feel honoured or concerned for your health 😉 Take care!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

