The months all stand in line

(My poem for my very first Spoken Word poetry english class)

The months all stand in line

Waiting at attention

One by one they’ll fall

Until I leave

.

Thousands of miles away

A new life awaits me

I am afraid

I will never reach

.

Fighting no longer

Straining no longer

I float on the water

And hope it’ll lead me there

.

Erase the past,

Page by page

Buy a new book and a new name

To start all over again

.

The memories fall

Dead leaves in autumn

I gather them up and burn them

Whispering silent goodbyes

.

Changing skin, I’m a snake

Hoping for a new beggining

Perhaps the new continent will grant my wish

But until September

I’ll never know

(Mid January 2015)

One Comment Add yours

  1. elainajhunt says:

    I very much connect with this poem. Just beautiful!

    Like

Leave a Reply

